Tuesday 11 January 2011

Pella archaeological digs are conducted every two years in January/February. 35 – 40 volunteers work on the dig over two sessions of three weeks each. Working in the same trench as last time gave me a bit of an eerie sense of deju vu – seemed like only yesterday that I was doing the same thing in 2009! Last time one of the workmen, Abu Wasfi, hinted to me broadly that I needed to learn some Arabic and write it down as I learn words in the trench, and that this time he would teach me ‘five words a day’. !!!?? hmmm, this is going to be interesting.

Rumours are reaching us of the floods in QLD.

Today with another volunteer (Jillian Parkin) I helped dig out a human burial. The bones had long since disintegrated into tiny fragments. Tomorrow I am going to sieve the fragments from the soil in which they were found.

Quote of the Day – Jillian, in relation to the hike up and down the very steep Tell Husyn every day to our trenchs ‘We’re going to have Buns of Steel by the time the three weeks are over’

~ by margoforte12 on January 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
